Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

We all have books we love that others hate and books we hate that others love. Tis life. But let’s be honest, when someone hates your faves, a little piece of you withers and dies. Dramatic, but you can’t deny it doesn’t cut you to the core! Well, think about that the next time you rant about a book you hate; you never know who loves it! That said, I’m just giving my opinions here, and if you love one of the books I’m not a fan of, no worries, I’m sure we have other books/series in common 🙂

A popular book or series that you didn’t like.

All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven (My review here)

A popular book or series that every one else seems to hate but you love.

These Broken Stars / Starbound Trilogy by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner. I don’t know that everyone else hates this series necessarily, but I haven’t seen glowing reviews everywhere. (My review here).

A love triangle where the main character ended up with the person you did NOT want them to end up with (warning: spoilers) or an OTP that you don’t like.

I always come back to this, but Jo from Little Women DID NOT end up with Laurie and to this day I get so angry just thinking about it. UGH.

A popular book genre that you hardly ever reach for.

A year ago I would’ve easily answered ya contemporary, but that just isn’t true anymore. I’ve been reading so much of it lately, though, that I can’t claim it here! I’m not really sure what my least favorite genre is… I’m not sure I have one! Maybe horror/gore? Yeah, I’ll go with that. Not much into the dark stuff.

A popular or beloved character that you do not like.

Kelsey from the Tiger Saga by Colleen Houck. I just did not like her character and didn’t enjoy that series whatsoever.

A popular author that you can’t seem to get into.

The Gone series by Michael Grant. I’ve tried so many times to get into this series, and it just doesn’t work for me. Sad. (Is it? I’m not sure, I just gave up)

A popular book trope that you’re tired of seeing. (examples “lost princess”, corrupt ruler, love triangles, etc.)

Love triangles. Hands down. If I have to read one more book about two equally hot/ mesmerizing/good/perfect/omg guys that are both equally in love/dedicated/obsessed with the main character, I’m going to quit reading forever. (Not really.)

A popular series that you have no interest in reading.

Vampire Academy by Richelle Meade. I get that some people love this series, but I just can’t seem to find any interest in picking it up.

The saying goes “The book is always better than the movie”, but what movie or TV show adaptation do you prefer more than the book?

The Perks of Being a Wallflower! I remember seeing it for the first time and feeling like I didn’t know how to feel, because it was so perfect and magical yet heartbreaking. (I’m really hoping the Shadowhunters TV series is going to knock this out for first place, fingers crossed).

(featured image source)

3 thoughts on “Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

Leave a comment